top of page

Prairie Trails Club 5K Run/3K Walk and Bike on the Great American Rail-Trail/Erie Trail

How to Participate
Go to RunSignup at runsignup.com/Races and enter the words Erie Trail
Preregistration closes on May 24, 2025 at 5:00pm CDT (6:00pm EDT).


Place
8759 N 700 E, Monterey, IN US 46960
(Alternatively the place is described by coordinates 86.56313W/41.17553 N)
The race begins at the southeastern trailhead of the Erie Trail on Starke County
Road 700 East. The Erie Trail at this location hosts the Great American Rail-
Trail, American Discovery Trail, and US Bike Route 35. Parking is available
across the road from the trailhead.


Description
Date: Saturday May 25, 2024, Race Time 9:00am CDT (10:00am EDT)

Hosted By: Prairie Trails Club Inc.

Location: Google address: Erie Trail End 8759 N 700 E Monterey, IN
46960 (Coordinates 86.56313W/41.17553 N)

Description: 5K Run and 3K Walk on the Great American Rail Trail/Erie
Trail. Both events are out and back, with marked turnaround points.
Race Day Registration: Race day registration starting at 8:00am CDT
(9:00am EDT) Race Day registration is $30 and is cash or check only
5K Run starts at 9:00am CDT (10:00am EDT)
3K Walk will start as soon as all the runners are clear of the starting line.
Walkers, please yield to runners.

Cost: $25 pre-register 5K Run/3K Walk (T shirt guaranteed)
$30 day of race for 5K Run/3K Walk (T shirt while supply lasts)

Chip Timing: T & H Timing.
Awards: Medals for top finishers (male and female) will be awarded in
the following brackets for both 5K & 3K events,:
9 and under, 10-14, 15-19, 20-24, 25-29, 30-34, 35-39, 40-44, 45-49,
50-54, 55-59, 60-64, 65-69, 70-74 75-79, 80 +
The bicycle event is intended as a celebration of our growing partnership
with the Panhandle Pathway and is free. Details for the bike route will be
provided later. Bicyclists may purchase T-shirts on site for $20 while
supply lasts.

Need Information: Contact Rich @ 773-332-9221

Event Cancellation: The event takes place rain or shine and will not be
rescheduled. In case of inclement weather or another reason posing an
unusual risk to the safety of the participants, the Prairie Trails Club may
cancel, alter, or modify the race or duration of the course. There will be
no refunds or modifications to race entry fees resulting from these
contingencies. T shirts will be mailed to preregistered participants in the
event of a cancellation. The event status will be on our website (https://
www.prairietrailsclub.org) and on our Prairie Trails Club Facebook page
by May 24th.

CR 700 E Trail West View.png
Bartee Bridge 16.png
bottom of page